A pig decision

We have 6 new little piglets coming in May. They are little saddlebacks and I can’t wait to meet them. Their arrival has left me with a big dilemma though and I’m not sure what to do.
Lizzie has been with us since we started but she didn’t get pregnant at all last year despite a lot of attempts. She is a big pig and she eats a lot and she isn’t particularly friendly so the sensible me says its time to say goodbye and get some tasty sausages before its too late. The sentimental me just can’t bring myself to do it though.

I’ve tried to find her a retirement home but nothing has turned up. I need to get it sorted before the little ones arrive as we don’t have that much space and she will not be welcoming to new pigs. Lots of the allotmenters have said they want her to stay but i’m just not sure. Any suggestions would be most welcome !

3 Comments »

  1. Karin said

    Green Oaks school have a saddleback. I don’t know if they’d want a second one or if they have room for 2 in their sty, but it might be worth asking.

  2. allotmore said

    Thanks Karin, I’ll ask them. It would be nice if she could retire somewhere nice and she is used to kids.

  3. Karin said

    Good luck

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

